Top indian games
Play Play For Fun
Play Play For Fun
Play Play For Fun
Play Play For Fun
Play Play For Fun
Play Play For Fun

Cricket rules explained

24betting bet live

Cricket is a sport played between two teams, each team having 11 players. The sport is played with a cricket ball and bat. One team throws the ball and has the players scattered across the field while the other team has two batsmen each using their own bat to knock the ball away. 

Cricket matches have either two or four innings. In England, every game has two innings. In the first inning, one team attacks while the other team defends. In the second half, the teams switch places. The goal is to score as many runs as possible. The team that has scored the most runs at the end of the match has won. 


The cricket pitch is either round or oval with a rectangular pitch in the middle. The size of the cricket ground can vary from 137 meters to 150 meters in diameter. The vast majority of the game takes place on the pitch, where there are two sets of sticks 20 meters apart. 

In countries like Sweden, artificial grass is used on the pitch, while in India it is more common for the pitch to consist of very short grass (as on golf greens). On the pitch, there are various markers that show the playing area.


A cricket match has no time limit and will thus vary in length from match to match. Each inning is divided into a specific number of overs and each over consists of six valid throws. Cricket has different game formats and the formats are usually separated by different numbers of overs. The longest format is test cricket. 

Test cricket is played internationally only and matches can last up to five days. In cricket, tactics play a central role and the number of overs in a match has a major influence on the teams ' tactical choices. That's why the sports is so popular in India.

The course of the game

The team that will hit the ball is tasked with scoring as many runs as possible during their inning (and their overs). The other team should try to limit the number of allowed runs that the batting team gets during the inning. Teams switch roles between the first and second inning, that is, each team hits the ball in one inning and throws the ball in the second inning. 

An inning is finished when all-overs are played or the batting team has ten of their players knocked out. The throwing team therefore has two tasks at the same time; (1) limit the number of runs scored by the batting team and (2) eliminate ten batters from the opposing team. The winner is the team that has scored the most runs after both innings have been completed.


The team that throws the ball chooses a player to throw the ball. The thrower is called the bowler. The bowler takes turns after an over so that more than one bowler throws the ball. The bowler's ten fellow players are scattered throughout the cricket pitch. Each of the ten players is called a fielder. The goal is to catch the ball, either while it is in the air (then the batsman is knocked out) or while it is rolling on the ground (then the two batsmen can run between the two stick sets). 

The batting team has two batsmen on the field at all times, one at each set of sticks. The bowler runs forward to one set of sticks and throws the ball along the pitch to the batsman standing in front of the other set of sticks. The batsman tries to hit the ball as far away from the pitch as possible. 

The best batsman can do is hit the ball up in the air and out of the court without the ball hitting the ground inside the court. Then the batting team gets six runs. 

The next best thing The batsman can do is knock the ball out of the court via the ground. Then the batsman gets four runs. If the batsman does not knock the ball out of the court and it is eventually picked up by a fielder, the batting team can get runs by the batsmen running from one set of sticks to the other. 

That is, they exchange sets of sticks. Every time both batsmen reach the second set of sticks, the team gets a run. If they can run back and forth, they get two runs. Extra points are also awarded on various occasions. The extra points can be divided into two categories; penalty points and byes.

A good bowler is so good at throwing the ball that the batsman is unable to hit the ball far away and thus is unable to score many runs. There are various throwing techniques. 

Fast bowlers throw the ball as fast as possible while spin bowlers give the ball the most turn. The bowler can choose whether the ball should bounce once before reaching the batsman or not. Spin bowlers try to give the ball the most unpredictable turn possible after the ball hits the ground so that the batsman misses the ball.


There are two referees at each cricket match. One referee stands behind the stick set on the bowler's side while the other referee stands to the side of the batsman. A cricket match can have three outcomes which you can bet on; victory and loss for the two teams, draw (teams end with an equal number of runs), or abandoned (the match cannot be finished due to rain, poor visibility, or other reasons). 

A scorer can also be used in matches. The scorer sits off the field and keeps track of statistics, such as the number of runs, how many are knocked out, and so on.

The 24betting casino & betting platform pay most attention to cricket matches, because cricket in India is a unique sport that not only follows the fixed rules of the game but also has an important sportsmanship element, called "the spirit of the game". Players are expected to act politely and accept the referee's decisions without annoyance or complaint. Bad behavior and bad sportsmanship are severely punished.